» Government » Elections 1990


The first parliamentary elections in the Republic of Macedonia took place in 1990, at which members of the Parliament were elected by the proportional model. A total of 1,339,021 voters were registered in the former Socialist Republic of Macedonia, who had an opportunity to cast their votes on November 11, for 18 parties, one social organization and 43 independent candidates. 

Nikola Koneski was President of the State Election Commission, comprised of 38 members. The voting process was carried out at 120 election districts in 34 municipalities. A total of 1,158 candidates ran for 120 parliament seats. According to the regulations in that period, a candidate that won majority of votes (50 plus 1) was elected for the parliament member. The second election round took place on November 25. Voters elected among candidates, who had won over 7% of votes in the first election round on November 11.

According to the adopted amendments of the SRM Constitution, the new Parliament is to be unicameral (instead of the former three-cameral), while the Republic's Head is to be one man instead of the former Presidency. The President is elected by the new Parliament by two-third majority of votes.

The Republic Executive Council was replaced with the Government, elected by the Parliament by two-third majority of votes. The Republic's President suggests a candidate (mandatory) for composition of the new government, based on former consultations with political parties, represented in the Parliament. 83,98 percent of voters took part in the first voting round, and the process was completed in 11 election districts. The second round was conducted in 75 election districts, while in 33 the elections were annulled. One member of the parliament was elected upon accepted complaint between two election rounds.

Eleven parliament members, elected in the first round were: Petar Gosev (SKM-PDP), Nexhati Xhaferi (PDP), Stojan Andov (SRSM), Ljubisav Ivanov (SP), Stojmir Cvetkovski (SKM-PDP), Hisni Sakiri (PDP), Dusan Nikolovski (SKM-PDP), Abdurahman Aliti, Vebi Xhemaili, Hamit Aliju and Xheladin Murati (PDP-NDP).

The Parliament of SR Macedonia held its first session on January 8, 1991. Stojan Andov, leader of the Alliance of the Reform Forces of Macedonia in that time, was elected for the Parliament Speaker. Nikola Stojanovski from Titov Veles (68), the oldest parliamentarian, chaired the session, which lasted for 8 hours and 13 minutes. Most of the parliamentarians - 38 were members of the political party VMRO-DPMNE; followed by the Alliance of Communists - Party for Democratic Prosperity - 31; the party for Democratic Prosperity - 17 and the Alliance of Democratic Forces of Macedonia - 11. Three independent candidates also became parliament members.

On January 1991, the Parliament elected Kiro Gligorov for President of the Republic of Macedonia by secret voting and majority of votes. Ljubco Georgievski was elected for Vice-President on February 1. Nikola Kljusev was elected for mandatary on March 7, while the first Government of the Republic of Macedonia was elected on March 20, 1991. Blaze Ristovski, Jovan Andov and Bekir Zuta were Deputy - Prime Ministers of the first government. Ministers: Defense - Risto Damjanovski; Internal Affairs - Jordan Mijalkov; Justice - Gjorgi Naumov; Foreign Affairs - Denko Malevski; Finance - Metodija Tosevski; Economy - Stojan Trajanovski; Development - Goce Petreski, Urbanism and Building - Aleksandar Lepavcov; Education and Physical Culture - Dimitar Dimitrov; Culture - Cvetan Grozdanov; Health - Perko Kolevski; Information - Martin Trenevski.

Jane Miljovski, Ljubomir Frckovski, Ilija Andonov-Cento and Alaetin Toska were elected for ministers without portfolio. The Macedonian government held its first session on March 21, 1991.


  • Skopje
  • Berovo
  • Bitola
  • Gevgelija
  • Kriva Palanka
  • Ohrid
  • Popova Šapka
  • Prilep
  • Štip

  • Macedonia is a small country with a big soul... It was admitted as the 181 member of the United Nations

  • Discuss
  • Ask a question